Williams injured in first hurdle

© AP Images

World No.2 Serena Williams has made her decision to pull out of Madrid after losing the first set 6-4 against Italian Francesca Schiavone. Despite the injury she remains confident that she will play at the French Open.

The 27 year-old who won the Australian Open earlier this year, said the problem had been hindering her for the last few weeks but believes that it should not affect her preparation for the French Open.

“No, it’s not going to stop me from playing in Paris,” said Williams.

“I didn’t want to risk my chances to play Roland Garros. I wanted to do well (here), but at the end of the day I’m trying to play Paris and still trying to play singles and doubles there so I didn’t really want to take that chance and be out of Roland Garros.”

“My movement was hindered. I don’t know how serious it is but I don’t want it to get worse. Obviously there’s a major grand slam coming up.”

0 Responses to “Williams injured in first hurdle”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

