Keothavong back to business

British No.1 Anne Keothavong made a winning start to delight the home crowd, winning her first match against Swede Sofia Arvidsson at the AEGON Classic in Birmingham handily in straight sets.

Keothavong, who has already been to three Sony Ericsson WTA Tour semi-finals at Auckland, Memphis and Warsaw, earned the No.11 seed this week and certainly lived up to the billing in her opener, disposing of Arvidsson 6-2, 6-2.

The 25 year-old started slowly, losing the first two games and going down double break point in the next game, but regrouped in no time to avoid further trouble.

“I was a little bit nervous at the start as it was my first match on grass, so it took me a while to get into it,” Keothavong said. “But I soon found my stride and am really pleased about how I finished it off. I love coming back here to the AEGON Classic as the crowd here in Birmingham always gets behind me.”

0 Responses to “Keothavong back to business”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

