Wozniacki through in stiff challenge

© Getty Images

Danish No.6 seed Caroline Wozniacki avenged her loss to Samantha Stosur in Eastbourne last year, running out a 6-1, 5-7, 6-1 winner.

This result is seen as a disappointment for Stosur, who progressed to a career best Grand Slam semi-final at the French Open.

Stosur admitted that she was disappointed by her below par performance.

“I didn’t get off to a very good start at all and then I felt like I was rushing a little bit and trying to do too much too early which I didn’t need to do.

“Second set, I started holding serve, which is always nice, and before you know it you find yourself 3-3, 4-4 and it can go either way.

“At 6-5, I kind of took my chance in that return game and stepped up and went for it, which is kind of what I should have been doing the whole match, and then won the set.

“But then I resorted back to the old ways in the third.”

Wozniacki will now face Russian Ekaterina Makarova who upset Frenchwoman Amelie Mauresmo 7-6(8), 7-6(13).

0 Responses to “Wozniacki through in stiff challenge”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

