Pistol Pete and FedEx

© Getty Images

Roger Federer‘s coach Paul Annacone recently said that the 29-year old Swiss is still open minded and full of energy. Annacone, who also coached former World No.1 Pete Sampras, felt that the American at this age was more tired emotionally and to a small degree physically.

Here is a comparison between Federer’s 2010 season and Sampras’ 2000 season.

Federer Sampras
Win-Loss Record 65-13 42-13
No. of titles 5 2
No. of Grand Slams 1 1
No. of Masters 1000 titles 1 1
Year End Ranking 2 3

From a personal view, a 29-year old Federer was a lot better than a 29-year old Sampras, based purely on the fact that Federer was able to win matches consistently throughout the whole season. Although the Swiss maestro didn’t have the greatest time on clay, he still managed to reach the final of Madrid and the quarter-finals of the French Open. On the other hand, Sampras bypassed the the clay lead up events in Monte Carlo and Rome, playing only in Hamburg where he reached the second round and then lost in the opening round of the French Open. Who do you think had a better season at age 29?

Sampras’ minor downfall was imminent in 2000, and even more so in 2001, when he failed to clinch a Grand Slam and dropped from No. 3 to No.10 in the year end rankings. Time will tell whether it’s Federer’s turn or not in 2011.

2 Responses to “Pistol Pete and FedEx”


  1. 1 Sophie Theodor May 21, 2013 at 5:13 am

    First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!Palm Harbor Roofing, 1334 Tampa Rd., #189, Palm Harbor, FL 34683 – (727) 233-7338

    • 2 protourtennis May 22, 2013 at 10:15 am

      Thank you very much for your kind thoughts. Before constructing any informative piece (sports based, academia etc) I feel its important that I spend time accumulating my thoughts. It is time consuming but worth it in the long run. I find it very difficult to write a good piece if I ignore this. Motivation is generally the reason behind my articles, it puts me in the zone.


Leave a Reply

