Sharapova announces return in Warsaw

© Reuters

Former No.1 Maria Sharapova has announced her return to the WTA Tour, playing her first singles tournament in Warsaw next week.

Her last singles event was at the  2008 Roger’s Cup in Montreal where she won her first match then pulled out with a shoulder injury. She withdrew from all events that year only making a brief comeback this year at the Miami Masters where she participated in the doubles tournament.

“I am very happy to report I will make my singles return to the Tour in Warsaw, Poland, the week of May 18,” Sharapova wrote on her website. “Although it has not been an easy process these last few months, I really believe it’s made me a much stronger person in so many areas of my life, professionally and personally. There are so many things you learn while you are limited in something you love.
“I want to thank all my die-hard fans who never stopped believing in me… your letters and messages have been truly inspirational and something that I always looked back to when I had the low moments.

“I know it is going to take me a while to get back into the groove of playing tournaments and matches, but I am so excited to be competing again.”

 

 

0 Responses to “Sharapova announces return in Warsaw”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment